QERA Annual Awards

Awards presented at the QERA AGM dinner and awards night.

The Michael Gabriel Award

To a new member who, in the opinion of the QERA Registrar, has made the ideal progression from a new member to an open rider in their first year.

Michael sadly passed away in 2008 but he left us with a lastly legacy.

He won 2 Quilty buckles and was a founding member of the Far a Way Endurance Riders Club.

He spearheaded the victorious campaign in 2006 to preserve access for horse riders into the State Forests of Queensland. Michael always encouraged junior and less experienced riders.

Colliers Queensland Cup

Awarded to the horse and rider combination who have completed the greatest distance for the year.

Recent Recipients –

2013 Briony Ledingham and Gemma
2014 Briony Ledingham and Gemma
2015 Jocelyn Barnes and Trinity
2016 Gavin Barlett and Longrun Drifter
2017 Gayle Holmes and Cairo
2018 Fiona Fenech and Abberlyn Park Aliva
2019 Graysen Clarke and Gray Gun Vanharlen

The Veterans Award

1st, 2nd and 3rd places.

Awarded to riders over 60 with the most distance accrued in endurance rides only.

The Elders Trophy (perpetual)

To riders 60 plus years for the most distance accrued in all affiliated QERA rides from 5kls, 20, 40,80, 160 to marathons and rides in-between.

Donated by Jan Tyrell

Queensland Triple Crown Series

One horse, one rider combination who complete a QERA affiliated Marathon, the Tom Quilty Gold Cup and the QERA State Championships in the one year.

Special Awards

Life membership Certificate - Anne Jones, Barbara Timms, Erica Williams and Dick Collyer

 Certificate of Appreciation - Keith Smith

Silver and Gold Distance Awards

These are a continuation of the yearly 100% completion awards. Special awards will be made to horses which complete 1500kms (Silver) and 3000kms (Gold)
with a 100% completion record.